Back to All Events

Juan Gabriel Vasquez on Golden Man Booker Prize Panel

  • Tata Tent Hay Festival Dairy Meadows, Brecon Road, Hay on Wye, HR3 5PJ (map)

What is the best Booker winner? To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the fiction prize, five judges have each selected what they think is the best winner of each decade since 1968. The shortlist result will be announced at Hay on 26 May. Gaby Wood, the Literary Director of the Booker Prize Foundation, hosts an all-star panel who will have read the shortlisted books and will pick a Hay winner. Philippe Sands won the non-fiction Baillie Gifford Prize for East West Street. Turkish author Elif Shafak’s novels include Honour, The Forty Rules of Love and Three Daughters of Eve.  The Colombian novelist Juan Gabriel Vasquez won the Premio Alfaguara and the IMPAC award for The Sound of Things Falling. His latest novel is The Shape of the Ruins.